Farm Sanctuary

I used to work at Farm Sanctuary, and though the remoteness of upstate New York eventually got the best of me, I find myself missing the sanctuary as the days are growing shorter.

Picture of Farm Sanctuary in upstate New York

Farm Sanctuary in autumn

I came to know and love many animals during my years there. Some of them even loved me back.

Picture of a goat at Farm Sanctuary in upstate New York

Dorothy, one of my favorite goats

Picture of turkey at Farm Sanctuary in upstate New York

Apollo, my favorite turkey. He was deeply in love with me. (No joke!)

Picture of pigs at Farm Sanctuary in upstate New York

Sebastian, Eric, and Jane curled up on a cool morning

Picture of cow at Farm Sanctuary in upstate New York

Tweed, my bovine boyfriend

Picture of a cow at Farm Sanctuary in upstate New York

Getting some love from Tweed

Picture of piglets at Farm Sanctuary in upstate New York

Newborn piglets snuggled up in a cat bed

Picture of pig at Farm Sanctuary in upstate New York

Julia, the piglets’ mommy and perhaps my favorite piggy

If you ever find yourself in the Finger Lakes, Los Angeles, or Sacramento, pack up the kids and go visit the Farm. Admission is $5, and you’ll get a guided tour that will go in with the animals. The three locations have different seasonal hours, so be sure to check the website before you go.

And if you do go, share your pics with me! I’m missing my old friends.

Share Your Thoughts

