DC VegFest

Today was DC’s VegFest, hosted by Compassion Over Killing. Even though I’ve been veg for years and even used to volunteer for COK, somehow I’ve never made it to their big annual festival.

Picture of sign at the DC VegFest

The event draws about 10,000 people. There was already a long line by the time I got there, about 45 minutes before the gates opened.

Picture of line to get into the DC VegFest

The line to get in. I was at about the mid-way point.

In all honesty, the only thing I really wanted was the food from Vegan Treats. It’s by far the most popular booth at the festival, and I ended up just trading one line for another.

Picture of the DC VegFest

The line for Vegan Treats

I think you will agree it was worth the wait.

Picture of baked goods from Vegan Treats

Picture of baked goods from Vegan Treats

My friend and I walked around for a little while longer as we sampled food and enviously stared at the purchases of others.

And then we went to a brewery.

Picture of DC street life

At the brewery, for some reason

Annnnd then I went home to eat this:

Picture of baked goods from Vegan Treats

All in all, a good day.

4 thoughts on “DC VegFest

  1. Great food and good weather. 10,000 people sounds like that could make for some pretty long lines and judging by one of the photos… Jeesh. I grew up as a vegetarian for a few years. I am not really sure what happened to make our family change to eating meat. I still like enjoy vegetarian dishes and I admire those that can stick with staying away from meat. Glad you had fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

